Zooming (with 14-45)

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Ranger Rick, Apr 7, 2012.

1. Ranger Rick

Ranger Rick Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 11, 2009
    Tempe, AZ
    I'm new to micro 43, but lots of experience with film and digital systems. I got the Panasonic 14-45 as my first zoom for my GH2.

Zooming with this lens is not as smooth as I would have expected, based on previous experience with other system zoom lenses. I find that turning the zoom ring on the lens results in an imprecise/jerky zoom. It's difficult to hone in on the desired final framing. Part of this may be the EVF, but it seems to me that turning the zoom ring itself is not as smooth as I would have expected- it almost feels like it is "sticky". I can't imagine zooming in movie mode and getting a smooth zoom.

Is there something I am missing, or procedure I should be following? Or is this "just the way it is"?

2. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    No, that's not normal. Either it's a manufacturing defect or some dust or grit has worked its way into the zoom mechanism causing it bind. It won't be quite as smooth as a power-zoom lens for video, but the resistance of the zoom ring should be close to constant through the whole range.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Spuff

Spuff Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 5, 2010
    Berkshire, UK.
    I found my Panny 100-300 very 'sticky' (big jerks when I tried a small adjustment) and un-smooth compared to my Olympus lenses. And although the Panny still feels sticky and cheap in its action it has got better enough to be able to zoom to where I want. So I think you might just need to wear the Panasonic in. I still wouldn't be able to do a smooth movie zoom though.