1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Zen and the art of bicycle touring

Discussion in 'The Watering Hole' started by thegimprider, Jul 5, 2016.

1. thegimprider

thegimprider Mu-43 Regular

Jun 12, 2016
    Douglas Coulter
    How many photographers also tour by bicycle? Micro four thirds was invented for us. I have been touring since 1971 and got serious about photography in 1977. Since then I've toured with TLR's and a Nikon FM for 25,000 miles. I did not shoot much film because I was in a big hurry to get somewhere. Motorcycle toured for several years with a Mamiya 645 until I found a Cannon EOS cheap at a swap meet. Digital did no approach film back then but it did not carry the cost per roll. Images cost nothing! I bought a Nikon with three lenses for $1,000.00 and thought I had THE KIT but they became dinosaurs overnight.
    Equipment gets better and cheaper but I get old and broken. I ride a recumbent trike now and it qualifies as a wheelchair. I've shipped my pro gear home to shoot with a pocket camera trying to cut bulk and weight. My full time tour camera now will be the Oly PL-7 with 7-14pro a 20mm prime and Panny 50-200. An older Samsung NV-7 in my pocket and a light tripod.
    crazyguyonabike.com gives me a good journal photo space to share my tours. 15migerlach.

• Like Like x 10
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Gerard

Gerard Mu-43 All-Pro

May 12, 2015
    Vleuten, Utrecht
    130429 Elfsteden-11-.
    This is as far as I went. Not thousands miles from home, but a mere 100 maybe.
    Not for a year or so, but for 5 days.
    But my friend and I had lots of fun.

• Like Like x 2
  3. thegimprider

Jun 12, 2016
    Douglas Coulter
    Distance is not as important as speed. A bicycle is slow motion and offers a slow motion perspective. One can drive a highway 1,000 time and never see its details. Photography is all about perspective.

• Like Like x 2
  4. Aushiker

Aushiker Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 12, 2014