Yongnuo YN-560 IV Flash Speedlight for omd em1

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by PantelisMor, Jun 4, 2015.

1. PantelisMor

PantelisMor Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 14, 2013
    Hello,

It's my first time I will buy a flash for my omd. I search for a cheap one . I think for the above . Is it a good choice ???

I have not any experience with flashes .

Thx a lot

2. twellsphoto

twellsphoto New to Mu-43

Jul 2, 2014
    I love my YN-560III. I can not do TTL, however, I don't think the IV's can either with the OMDs. I use two YN-560iiis on stands with modifiers, and a YN-560-TX to control them from my camera. They are very powerful and produce plenty of light.

3. ashburtononline

ashburtononline Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 21, 2015
    New Zealand
    Fl-50r used is the man !!

4. wilson

wilson Mu-43 Regular

Mar 26, 2014
    It depends on what you intend to do with the flash.

If you just want a flash for family group photo's, you'll probably want an Olympus TTL capable flash, so something like the Olympus FL-600R would be a good choice, or the Panasonic FL-360L (basically the same flash). I've read good things about the Nissin i40, but it costs about as much as an Olympus or Panasonic. The only other third party brand that I would trust with Panasonic or Olympus TTL cameras would be the Metz flashes: The Metz Mecablitz 36 AF-5 is a pretty good equivalent flash for reasonable $$$.
    There are other Oly/Panny TTL compatible flashes available, just filter for them on bhphoto's website. But your mileage may vary with the other brands. Also I would not bother with the Oly FL-300r, it's just too weak for anything and it's not cheap either.

However, if you intend to shoot creative flash and *never* use TTL mode like the "pros", then the YongNuo will be fine and you'll not need to buy any oly/panny TTL flash.

If you need the ultimate in flash power AND TTL AND wireless TTL, then get the Olympus FL-50r or the even more powerful Metz mecablitz 64 AF-1.