1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

YIKES!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dixeyk, Feb 6, 2016.

1. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    Was changing lenses and my ring finger decided to drop into the camera and plant itself firmly on the sensor. Luckily it appears there is a thin glass (plastic) cover on the sensor and I was able to gently wipe away with a lens cloth the tiny smudge left by my finger tip. Shot a few afterward and there doesn't seem to be any issues.

In as long as I have been shooting digital I have never done that before...and I hope to never do it again.

2. stratokaster

stratokaster Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 4, 2011
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Pavel
    LOL. Your sensor (or, to be precise, the glass cover in front of it) is REALLY tough. It's very difficult to damage it. And contrary to popular belief, cleaning the sensor is really easy. I have always cleaned sensors in my cameras with regular Q-tips and face lotion (yes, really) without any ill effects. If somebody tells you you should never touch the sensor cover and use only specially designed products to clean it, know that this person is spreading FUD and probably intends to sell you an unnecessarily expensive cleaning kit.

Take a look at this old thread: I tried to destroy the sensor, I really did!

• Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. dixeyk

Aug 9, 2010
    That's good to know, I hit it with a lens cloth then blew it out and it seems fine. There appears to be a tiny speck on the glass but I'm going to sweat it. I can't see it on any of the images so far.

4. Nawty

Nawty Mu-43 Regular

May 1, 2015
    However...

If your camera has IBIS then you could have knackered it, or so the manufacturers would have you believe (I don't know, I've cleaned DSLR sensors many a time but have always been told cameras with IBIS need to be sent away as you need a tool to immobilise the sensor so you don't kill the IBIS)