1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Yet another "I'm thinking about switching" thread (sorry).

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by misformonochrome, Jan 13, 2014.

1. misformonochrome

misformonochrome New to Mu-43

Jan 13, 2014
    Lamar, Missouri, USA
    M is for Monochrome
    Just joined today after reading some great material here and wanted to ask some advice. I'm sure you get tired of this question as there's lots of information all over the internet on why one would want to switch (or conversely, why one wouldn't); I can read and I know how to Google, so I've got that part covered.

But what I don't have clear in my mind is: based on the kinds of photography I do, does a switch to MFT make sense? I thought I'd just throw out here something to chew on and if you have the inclination, then I would really love to hear your thoughts on switching to MFT in this situation.

I'm a software engineer by profession, so am resigned to being a semi-pro (which, to be brutally honest, is a pretty darn good gig if I don't have to worry about health insurance etc... and can still be independent). I'm not terribly interested in dumping my career to focus on photography, either. Anyway, not right now with 4 kids still at home and going into college, yada yada. So while I might "go pro" at some point, I'm content with focusing on the Art of my photography for the time being and maybe trying to make my hobby pay for itself by selling fine art prints as well as sports photos to local parents. I do occasional weddings and portrait sessions, though I don't consider myself a portrait photographer at all (though clients have definitely complimented the results).