1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Ye olde time black and white...from around iconindustries home.

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by Iconindustries, Apr 9, 2011.

1. Iconindustries

Iconindustries Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Recently I bought an old book called 'The Great Inventions'. The author has done a remarkable job of collecting photos and drawings to illustrate what is being described. As it is an old book and the inventions he is writing about are even older, the majority of the images are black and white. What struck me about the black and white is that it is so different to what i've used to seeing. More life, more real, more nostalgic. Determined to find the difference, I studied a portrait in the book of Samuel Finley Breese Morse the great pioneer of the telegraph. Circa 1830's
    He is standing with his arm resting on the back of a chair. He is wearing a long jacket or coat. This is very black. The outer edges of the image are dark, more so towards the corners. Vignetting I assume, and back in those days it was probably unintentional. His face and hair is extremely white. There is a white glow behind him which is intensified by the heavy vignetting. The white part is the defining signature of the old time B&W images. It is very white, way over exposed white. And being complimented by the very dark blacks, it gives the image more punch.
    I went out and took a few images with my GF1 and 20mm and converted one to black and white in Aperture. It wasn't black and white at all, more like black and grey. (I discovered black and white in Aperture is pretty lame) With the old portrait of Samuel beside me I fiddled around in Aperture until I came to a closer resemblance to the picture beside me. I got it pretty close. The only thing I would really love to add is flicks and specks to create the aged
    look.

Here are the images I took and processed with 'ye olde time look'