Would the EP2 with

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Gerry M, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Gerry M

Gerry M Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 13, 2012
    U S West coast
    the VF2 be considered an upgrade from my G1? Is the VF2 equal to the EVF on the G1? I'm new to m4/3 and don't want to take a big (OM-D) plunge until I am more comfortable with the format. I have been using D80, D200, R1 & a couple of older compacts. I have 14/2.5, 14-42 and Zuiko's from 24-100mm. Appreciate any input.
    Thanks,
    Gerry

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    I would consider the E-PL2 with VF-2 to be a better upgrade, personally. It may not be made of as robust metal (E-PL2 = aluminum, E-P2 = metal-alloy) and is missing one dial, but otherwise it has a lot of performance upgrades such as much sharper image quality, better high-ISO performance, faster AF, twice the LCD resolution, larger grip, etc.

The E-PM1 is even a slightly better performance upgrade but a downgrade in terms of control from the E-PL2... but offers a much smaller size if that's important to you.

I don't imagine either of those options will run you much more than an E-P2.

3. Gerry M

Gerry M Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 13, 2012
    U S West coast
    Thanks for your input, Ned. What are your thoughts on the VF2 versus the G1 EVF?

4. On my GH1 (same viewfinder as the G1) I find that my eye is particularly sensitive to the colour "tearing" that happens when you move your eye quickly and it makes the viewfinder uncomfortable for me to use. The VF2 doesn't give me the same problem. Aside from that, they are both fairly high resolution EVFs that do the same job, the biggest operational difference being the tiltability of the VF2 vs the eye sensor on the G1.

5. Gerry M

Gerry M Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 13, 2012
    U S West coast
    OK, that's the type of info I am looking for. Thanks for your input.
    Gerry

6. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010