1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Would like some feedback

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by dave, Oct 16, 2012.

1. dave

dave Mu-43 Regular

Jan 30, 2012
    Evening all this is my first attempt at HDR black and white. I would like some feedback on what i did right or what i did wrong. Please feel free to share your thoughts and any tips you may have. Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    The photo is certainly nice and clear, but to me, it appears too light. I would like to see more deep blacks. Still, nice shot! :cool:

3. goldenlight

goldenlight Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 30, 2010
    Essex
    John
    In this case HDR seems to have evened out all the tones, making a flat picture lacking in contrast. That may be the effect you wanted, of course, but what was it about this scene that led you to give it the HDR treatment?

4. dave

dave Mu-43 Regular

Jan 30, 2012
    Well i really like how this looks as is but my intent originally was more contrast and darker darks. Im pretty new to HDR and haven't had a lot of time to play with it. To me this image the way it is has an old west film grain look to it and i do like that affect even though it wasn't my original intent lol

5. jamespetts

jamespetts Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2011
    London, England
    I'm not sure that that's a photograph that benefits from HDR - that looks as though all the dynamic range in the photograph could readily be captured with a single shot with an ordinary sensor...

6. goldenlight

goldenlight Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 30, 2010
    Essex
    John
    If it's achieved the look you want, even though not by intent, then it's fine. :smile:

• Like Like x 2
  7. With_Eyes_Unclouded

With_Eyes_Unclouded Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    What software have you used for this?