wired remote shutter question (E-M10)

sammykhalifa

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
809
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Real Name
Neil
Hey guys,

I'm having a problem with using my wireless remote. I connect it, hit the button, and the camera finds focus and locks it. But it won't trigger the shutter.

Now it's quite possible there's a problem with my (generic) cable. But I'm wondering if there's some setting in the camera I need to use to get it to work. I tried looking in the manual, but we all know how useful that is.

Am I missing something stupid?

Thanks.
 

sammykhalifa

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
809
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Real Name
Neil
Thanks Randy. I didn't see anything wrong, but when I put it back together I can get it to shutter (if I press really had). I think I paid about seven dollars for this trigger, so I'd prefer it be that and not the camera. I was just not sure if I had to had it in Manual focus or something like that.

Thanks.
 

sammykhalifa

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
809
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Real Name
Neil
Again, cable with a wireless remote? What cable?
Oh, it was cabled, sorry about that. I opened it up and messed with the little metal contacts, and after some experimenting got it to work a little better.

It's an "Opteka" replacement for the RM-UC1 that I bought about a year ago from a certain rainforested web-based bookstore. Looks like it's currently listed at 4.95 for anyone that's interested.

Also, good point about the smartphone app. Heh.
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
I suggest you go back and edit the 1st post to have the title "wired remote shutter question (E-M10) ". You will have to click advanced after you click edit.
 

sammykhalifa

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
809
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Real Name
Neil
I suggest you go back and edit the 1st post to have the title "wired remote shutter question (E-M10) ". You will have to click advanced after you click edit.
Oh geez, I didn't even see I had done that.

No wonder why there was all of the confusion!
 

Leif

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
98
Location
Germany
Real Name
Leif
The E-M10 is a bit tighter so many of the cable shutter releases (at least 3rd party ones) don't go completely into the socket. Check if the plug goes completely into the socket, otherwise take a knife and remove a bit of the surrounding black plastic around the plug of the cable release. This way I could fix mine easily.
 

Attachments

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom