1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Winter = questioning period

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Talanis, Jan 23, 2013.

1. Talanis

Talanis Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 15, 2012
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Eric Cote
    I've been a professional photographer for nearly 6 years now with about 25 years of photography passion. I'm on full frame (5D, 5DII) for some years and have a good range of lenses. My back isn't what it used to be so lugging around 15kg of equipment all day during weddings isn't fun anymore (although I love shooting weddings).

Last september, I bought an OM-D for family and travel because I wanted something lighter but keep good image quality. I fell in love with this camera. For my personal project and family activities, I've been using exclusively this camera and the 20mm f/1,7, 45mm f/1,8 and 12-50mm. I even used it in commercial work. You can see my last 4 months here: Quatre mois avec l’Olympus OM-D » Blog de Eric Côté, photographe but it is in french (still has pictures in it though :wink:).

I'm at the point where I'm pondering the idea of switching full time to the OM-D. Thinking about selling my Canon gear (or some of it) to buy a second body and some lens that I need for my work. But fear can be a great stopper. I'm afraid of the clients perception, especially in the wedding industry. Although the clients know what I can produce with a camera, their friends and family don't necessary do so will they be respectful or not on the big day? I don't know.

I'm not 100% sure it's a good idea. I know that for image quality, it won't be a problem. What do you guys think about that? Any of you made the move?

Thanks for your input.

2. MAubrey

MAubrey Photographer

Jul 9, 2012
    Bellingham, WA
    Mike Aubrey