1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Will the EPL1 or PL2 work for me?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by bopat, Mar 22, 2011.

1. bopat

bopat Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 22, 2011
    Dear Forum members,

You must be rolling your eyes as yet another noob asks that timeless and done-to-death question "Is this camera right for me?" .... for that, my apologies in advance!

First of all, what a fantastic forum ... I'm glad I stumbled onto it!

Okay, now onto my present dilemma!! I am planning on springing for an Oly EPL1 or 2 in the next month or so, and I have been doing a ton of research on this matter. I little bit about me and my shooting habits: I am strictly a photography newbie, having dabbled mostly with P&S and 'bridge' cameras. I am an ecologist by profession, and hence love the outdoors. Given this, it is quite appalling that I haven;t made a more concerted effort to capture all I have in a more serious manner thus far. My wife and I purchased our first 'pro' camera last year - a GF1 with the 14-45 kit lens. We have been happy with it thus far, but I only wish we used it more. Anyway, the reason I want to spring for a second camera is because we will be spending some substantial time apart, and we both will be spending a considerable amount of time outdoors. So why have I decided on the Olys?
    1. I just love love love the way they look
    2. I am slightly biased as my late father was a devout Olympus OM1 user in his haydays as a photographer.
    3. Sticking with one system (the mu-4/3) makes sense, as we can share lenses between cameras as we build on a system (in fact when we bought the GF1, I begrudgingly gave the EP1 a pass because of the lack of flash -- remember we are casual, noob photographers!!)

Given all this, I just want your opinions on whether the EPLs will work for the kind of pictures I envisage taking. I will be spending 2 months this summer in Alaska doing field work.