1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Will it be possible to use the EM-5 MK-II flash on EM-5?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by whatisaw, Feb 8, 2015.

1. whatisaw

whatisaw Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 4, 2015
    This is the flash which EM-5 should have been shipped with in first place. The tilt and swivel functionality is sweet.
    But I think there is an extra pin in the flash hot shoe on EM-5 MK-II.
    Will it make a difference?
    BTW I am a complete newbie in these matters.

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

Oct 26, 2010
    Steeler Country
    .... no ..... go to the Olympus site ...

3. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz
    I really think it's nuts not to make products backwards compatible. Yes, you do need to advance and sometimes leave old tech behind, but we're only talking about a couple of years, less if you consider say the E-M10. Does this mean the accessory port on all past cameras becomes redundant and nothing new will be developed to take advantage of this port?

• Like Like x 1
  4. fortwodriver

fortwodriver Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 15, 2013
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Frank
    Has anything been developed for the AP2 port since the E-M1? I don't think so...

I guess people won't be able to use that rather useless Dual-Macro LED light... I bought that on sale for a good price and still marvel at how useless it seems to be.

5. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    Ray, not Oz
    Obviously they haven't, but I wonder what they had in mind when it was developed in the first place.

6. hookgrip

hookgrip Mu-43 Regular

May 21, 2013
    Even though I've sold all of my Micro 4/3 gear in favor of DSLRs, this flash is something that I REALLY would have wanted on a Micro 4/3 body. Go figure that Olympus gimped it by making it incompatible on any previous camera.