Wildlife Photography: Understanding the DoF Misconception of Telephoto Lenses

So this has been in my head for a few years now but for some reason every time I sat down to write it up I would get nowhere. Well I finally got around to finishing it up and I am also trying something new with this post.

49179120757_89b9ffe415_o.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
Gorgeous by Phocal Art, on Flickr

I am a wildlife photographer who likes to get close to my subjects since that is where the details are. The downside to getting close is dealing with a narrow Depth of Field (DoF), like the photograph above, when I can’t stop-down because the light is low and it will raise my ISO beyond what I’m comfortable with. There are also times when close with good light that I can stop-down to capture all that amazing detail like the image below.

49346309383_5a95d5b12f_o.jpg
Sexy by Phocal Art, on Flickr

While laying at the edge of a swamp photographing baby gators with a DoF of 1/4 inch I don’t have time to shoot multiple images at various apertures when mama gator is lurking not far off. Yes, DoF is something I consider when shooting, along with composition, perspective, and shutter speed (freeze or show motion).

29786104344_ec18b29af3_o.jpg
Unsure by Phocal Art, on Flickr

Part of my image processing includes getting the focus distance from the EXIF and figuring out the DoF for the image. I do this to keep my skills sharp for when encountering a new subject like the fox in the photograph below. It was cloudy and snowing, which was going to force me to shoot at higher ISO’s. She was close and while great for filling the frame would also create some narrow DoF. Since she was moving around I wanted a somewhat higher shutter speed and to keep the ISO as low as possible I elected to shoot wide-open at ƒ4.0. I knew this was going to create shallow DoF, but I also knew that it would be enough for a compelling image.

49179128182_06297616d5_o.jpg