Wide Zoom - Your Take? Your Kit.

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Hayden, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Hayden

Hayden New to Mu-43

Nov 15, 2012
    EDIT: By wide zoom I meant something in starting in the 12-14 range (Standard), sorry for the confusion. I should work on my terminology! However the Wides are also an interesting option :)

I'm new to the world of m4/3 and I am curious how others have assembled their kits. I recently purchased an OM-D and a panny 20mm 1.7, coming from a Canon 7D and I'm loving every minute of it. But now I have come to the standard m4/3 dilemma of the fast zoom. The way i see it I have 3 options;

1- Use an adapter to 4/3 with lens such as the Oly 14-54. Only downside is the large size negates some of the benefits of m4/3

2- Pick a Native, slow zoom. Whats your favorite? Why? (the Panasonic 12-35 is simply out of my budget)

3- Ditch a zoom and go all primes for the time being.

How have you solved this issue? What is does your kit look like? I would love to know what you have found is the best way to work around this issue in the system.

Thanks for your time! This is a great Community,
  2. ggibson

ggibson Mu-43 Regular

Jul 9, 2011
    I picked up the 9-18mm to compliment my 20mm and 45-200mm kit. The 20mm is sharp enough to crop if necessary, and the other two zooms are great values. Covers a huge range, and is very compact!
  3. arentol

arentol Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 29, 2012
    Sounds like you want a normal zoom, not a wide zoom.

Personally I would suggest option 3, all primes. Just get the 14 f/2.5 (tons of used ones available cheap) and 45 f/1.8 and along with the 20 you already have you are set with 3 great lenses that are all small and very good IQ.

The only Zoom that is comparable is the 12-35, but that is a lot more money.
  4. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA