1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

wide and tele converters for my em5ii

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by travelbug, Jul 30, 2016.

1. travelbug

travelbug Mu-43 Regular

Oct 20, 2014
    i want a bit more width for my oly12-40 pro (and rok 12/2) and a bit more reach for my panny 45-200.
    im quite new to photography and the way i understand it, is that these converters attach between the body and the lens, so i do not need to buy lens size-specific converters. is this correct? and what would you gurus recommend i get ?

2. PacNWMike

PacNWMike Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Dec 5, 2014
    Salish Sea
    guess?
    A wide converter mounts on the front and is lens-specific...at least if you want decent results. Skip it and get a 9-18 IMHO.

A teleconverter mounts between the lens and the camera and is also made to be paired with specific lenses for best results. Not sure if the 12-40 is one of them but others here will know. A quality TC paired with the right lens the results can be stellar.

3. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014
    The only teleconverter for m4/3 is the Olympus MC-14 and it only works with the 40-150 Pro and 300 Pro.

Never been a fan of those that attach to the front of a lens. If you want wider buy a wider lens in my opinion. I use the Bower 7.5mm fisheye for my wide angle needs.

Others will come on here and swear by the ones that attach to the front. i have never seen results that are better then cropping in post.

4. gpburdell

gpburdell Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 16, 2014
    You see these converters more often in fixed lens cameras that can't change lenses.

If you need wider coverage your best results will come from a wider angle lens such as the 9-18 or 7-14 if you have the cash.