1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Why would you purchase a new camera body?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Johbremat, Feb 8, 2014.

1. Johbremat

Johbremat Mu-43 Regular

Dec 5, 2013
    Simply as a matter of conversation.

• I'm relatively new to ILCs
    • In the past six months I've purchased an E-M1 and E-P5
      • Bought for their differing form factors with consistency in output and operation
      • Currently using O12-40 and O17
    • For hobbyist purposes: fine art and landscape, primarily
    • No misconceptions about becoming a professional, but would love to be generating equivalent output
    Don't imagine replacing these bodies in my lifetime as I'd barely shoot 100 pics in a month - figure actuations won't be a problem - and treat my gear like my life (and wallet) depend on it. And if m4/3 continues to exist for another 5 years and I can get all the glass I'm looking at, I wouldn't me too concerned (certainly sad) if it went the way of Minolta or 4/3 before it.

Technology progresses, either incrementally or in leaps-and-bounds. Once purchased these cameras are all but superseded and devalued. I'm happy with my decision and have little intent of getting the E-M1mkVII or E-P10.

But curious as to why others change their gear up as often as their underway (yes, I'm personally aware of the horrors of G.A.S and am a recovering sufferer). Under what circumstance would YOU purchase a new body? What's the oldest, still-operable piece of digital kit you have in your possession?

2. billbooz

billbooz Mu-43 Regular

Jan 23, 2014
    Lynchburg, VA USA
    William H. Booz