1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

why use DNG?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by kevinparis, Jan 21, 2013.

1. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    An issue that has come up on the very excellent... if sometimes fiesty thread

https://www.mu-43.com/f48/mu-43-post-processing-challenge-7-a-39838/

is that a certain kind of DNG... we are not sure quite what version yet...is not the universal future proof read anywhere format that Adobe likes to think it is.

I have been doing digital photography for 10 years... and from the birth of DNG have not bought into the supposed advantages.

Recently on the PP challenge thread I have twice encountered DNG images that could be neither read by a very up to date Aperture or indeed a a 7 year old version of photoshop.

on the other hand there have been DNG files i can read happily. this doesn't sound like a universal format to me

I shoot RAW.. i keep as native RAW... I dont trust DNG

and not as a boast, but to keep the conversation on topic .. I have used a mac every day for 25 years, worked for apple for 9 years and helped launch Aperture in Europe by standing in front of a lot of people and actually using it

K

2. tuanies

tuanies Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 13, 2011
    Graham, WA
    Tuan Huynh
    Because they expect you to use Lightroom to read it :)

3. kevinparis

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    but lightroom reads raw, jpeg and tiff just fine?

ahhh..see where you are going:)

K

4. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    It's like the web. The "standard" is the one thing guaranteed not to work universally.

5. jeffg53

jeffg53 Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 22, 2012
    Sydney, Australia
    Jeff Grant