Why no ultrawide primes (<10mm)?

tolesy

Mu-43 Regular
I am a fairly new photographer and take pleasure in taking pictures of my travels and my family. I have an Oly 14-150 that meets 90+% of my needs. On my most recent vacation I found myself having to back further and further away from my subject to get the desired background with my lens backed down to 14mm. After viewing the link below that I found floating around in another thread it made me realize just how much wider I would like to be able to go.

Olympus Zuiko lens field of view comparison

Is there an underlying reason why Panasonic or Olympus doesn't make a 7mm, 8mm, 9mm, or 10mm prime? Is it easier to produce a wide zoom as opposed to a prime?

Promit

Mu-43 All-Pro
Real Name
Promit Roy
I assume you mean a rectilinear prime? There are two fisheyes which are great fun and can be corrected to rectilinear.

meyerweb

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I would guess the manufacturers don't see enough demand. Although Panasonic sells a fisheye, which can't have a lot of demand, either.

I think that as the system continues to mature you'll see a wider variety of lenses available, but for the moment the only way to get a lot wider than 14 is a zoom. The Panasonic 7-14 is just a wonderful lens that can be used to create very dramatic and compelling images (or really boring, poor images). The Oly 9-18 doesn't get quite as dramatically wide, but is a lot smaller and a fair bit less expensive (cheaper than the 12mm prime), and still a lot wider than the 14.

digitaldan1

Mu-43 Regular
Designing a quality extreme wide angle lens is an expensive process. If you look at the cost of super wide angle lenses for conventional dSLRs, you'll see mainly zooms as well. These often go for $1000 or more (although cheaper, lower quality ones are out there).