1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Why I Love µ4/3 for Wildlife Photography

Discussion in 'Nature' started by Phocal, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014
    Before coming over to µ4/3 I shot Canon and lugged around those heavy cameras and lenses. As a wildlife photographer I do a lot of walking (yes, a lot of sitting and watching animals also) and even a few extra pounds can make the difference at the end of the day. For a full day of wildlife shooting I typically carry several times more in weight of food, extra clothing, water, and other essentials, and anywhere I can drop some weight is always a wonderful thing. My current wildlife setup includes an EM1 (443g), ZD 50-200 SWD (995g), and the EM1 grip (225g) for a total of 1,663g. A comparable setup would be a Canon 5D (860g), EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 (1,590g), 5D grip (310g, because I grip all of my cameras) for a total of 2,760g. That leaves us with the Olympus gear saving me 1,097g or 2.4lbs, that really is a big difference in weight. That is just from the photo taking stuff. I am not going to factor in all the weight savings I gain from extra lenses (think always take my 60mm macro with me) and the ability to use lighter tripods and heads. As an estimate I would say that is another 2.4lbs in weight savings.

Price, while not so much a factor does sway me even more in the direction of µ4/3. Total price for my wildlife setup new is $2,700 and the Canon would be $4950. The $2250 in savings could buy me the 40-150 Pro or even better, a used ZD 150mm ƒ2.0 and EC-20. Ummmmm.......wonder if there is any weight savings between that and a 300mm ƒ2.8? If you are curious the 150mm is 740g lighter.