1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Why does the Panasonic cost more than the Olympus?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Johnny1.33, Jun 4, 2011.

1. Johnny1.33

Johnny1.33 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 4, 2011
    Hi, I am just learning about the m4/3 so sorry for my newbie question.

I was looking at bhphoto and saw the Panasonic cost more. It is just the more megapixels and higher HD video? Why does the Panasonic cost more aren't the same lenses used on both?

Thanks.

2. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    The lenses should generally speaking always be more expensive than Olympus because of their image stabilization that resides within the lens.

3. Johnny1.33

Johnny1.33 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 4, 2011
    But do the Panasonic lenses fit the Olympus?

4. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    which Panasonic...and which Olympus? There are many factors that go into pricing and there are plenty of people who favor one over the other..... both companies make some wonderful cameras. You really need to read up and them (and more importantly....if possible) handle them and shoot with them. They are quite different....though both will get you beautiful shots once you learn them.

5. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

6. Johnny1.33

Johnny1.33 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 4, 2011
    yes to the same lenses being used?

7. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    the short answer is yes.....they will fit. I assume that you are comparing micro four thirds lenses to micro four thirds lenses. Both companies agreed on a standard. some work "better" on certain cameras than others. If that sounds vague, it's because there are plenty of variables.....you;ve found a very helpful group, though.

8. Johnny1.33

Johnny1.33 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 4, 2011
    I'm just trying to figure the best one to buy. Are any of them fast enough for sports?

9. Luke