Why are there no standardized low light tests??? :(

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by bee, Apr 30, 2012.

1. bee

bee Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 27, 2012
    Why isn't this a standard test? I see flawed ISO performance tests where are the real ones? I am new to this so bear with me.

I think most of us care how a camera performs in low light situations where we need to minimize camera shake or subject movement. We are looking for the least amount of noise in these situations.

Example (from my real life)
    I am shooting a non moving object hand held on my GF1. My shutter speed is 1/30th with a 20mm 1.7 Panasonic lens wide open at 1.7, no flash allowed. I have maxed out the light that can enter the camera. The ISO is adjusted to properly expose the image and I press the shutter. I pull it up on the computer, and say holy crap that's noisy I can't use this......Let me see if the new GX1 would have been able to pull that shot off. I go to dpreview.com and find a completely useless comparison tool.

So here are the variables:
    Available light (Can be measured and standardized)
    shutter speed (Standardized in seconds)
    aperture (Standardized in F stops)
    ISO (NOT Standardized different from camera to camera)
    Noise (Subjective, there are different kinds of noise and personal opinion involved)

My test procedure for comparing cameras:
    Set cameras with same lens to a specific shutter speed and aperture, properly expose image by adjusting ISO. View resulting images at a standardized size. This seems like a good real world test.

DPreview test procedure:
    Set camera with specific ISO and aperture, then adjust exposure with shutter speed. View results at 100% crop.
    FLAWS: they use non standardized ISO number. And then you view the pictures at 100% crop which isn't realistic between sensors with different megapixels.