1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Who Else Wants More Native Manual-Focus Lenses?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Narnian, Jul 16, 2012.

1. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Midlothian, VA
    Richard Elliott
    I must confess I am not that interested in expanding my lenses with auto-focus versions. Auto-focus is beneficial for zooms but less so for primes from my standpoint.

I am just as happy with manual focusing in most cases. I have several adapted lenses I love but I would like smaller native versions.

And as a casual photographer I further confess I want inexpensive (read: cheap) lenses with good but not necessarily professional build quality (e.g. Nikon E series). Voightlander lenses are too large and too expensive for me. The Samyang 7.5 strikes the perfect balance and would love to see them make even more.

Native manual focus prime lenses I would like to see?

1. 10/2.8
    2. 25/1.8
    3. 50/1.8 (replace my Pentax 50/1.4)
    4. 85/2 or 100/2 (replace my Minolta 85/2)
    5. 100/2.8 Macro (replace my Micro-Nikkor)
    6. 200/2.8 (replace my Pentax 200/4)

I have the 14/2.5 and 20/1.7 Pannys and like them fine as they are but if/when I replace then I would probably get fast wide primes in the same or similar lengths.

2. nickthetasmaniac

nickthetasmaniac Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 11, 2011
    Curious why you want the above lenses in MF instead of AF?

3. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    I'd like a couple for video purposes. Filming with AF lenses kind of sucks, focus by wire is gross and the lack of hard stops is awkward.

4. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    Dara
    For anything past 25mm or so, what would be the advantage over adapted legacy lenses? Native would be more expensive, and a lot more limited on what they could be used on.

Personally, I miss MF not at all.

DH