Which to buy??

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by TheDave, Aug 22, 2010.

1. TheDave

TheDave New to Mu-43

Aug 19, 2010
    Hi all; total camera newbie here

After some research i have decided to purchase a Panasonic for my girlfriends 21st in about 6 months time. So far away! Yes! but having next to no knowledge on cameras i thought i would do some homework. The size and weight was the main decsion behind going with a micro 4/3rd format.

So i am now tossing up between a GF1/G2/GH1
    I am hoping to stick with 1 lense for now.
    Do all these models come with the same lense, or have different options.
    I am interested in indoor shots with low light but also wish to get good outdoor scenery shots too.
    I have noticed that many GF1 owners recommend the 20mm lense kit.
    Does this lense come standard with the G2 & GH1? If not, will their "standard" lense" be sufficient for indoors and low light.

The touch screen has no interest to me but the hd video does.
    I have never used a EVF before so i don't know the benefits either/

Or should i hang out for any new models as i have a while until the deadline
    cheers guys

2. JoepLX3

JoepLX3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 13, 2010
    Japan
    The 20 mm F1.7 is perfect for indoor low light photo's, but it is a prime, that means NO zoom functionality. For indoor typically no tele zoom (enlarge things far away) is typically not an issue, but no wide zoom ("zoom out", more on the left and right also part of the picture) can be.

The kit zoom lenses have wider view (the 20 mm number is lower), but is slower wrt light sensitivity (the F number being higher).

Sorry, you can't have both in one lens, so you kind of have to tell us more about your girlfriend :wink:.

The 20 mm F1.7 on the GF1 in pink will for sure be good looking (compact wise), but can she handle no zoom?
    - Oh, 20 mm is effectively same as 40 mm on a 35 mm full frame DSLR (big camera's), but also P&S often have same scale.

3. JoepLX3