1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Which tele zoom?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by itami, Aug 9, 2015.

1. itami

itami New to Mu-43

Jul 10, 2015
    UK
    I was going to get myself a used Panasonic 45-200 but the reviews seem to be a bit mixed. Is the 45-150 a much better lens? I see that the latter doesn't have an IS switch - will this be a problem on an Olympus body with IBIS? I currently use a Panasonic camera but always like to keep my options open.

2. I've been using the Pan 45-150 for the last 3 months now and I have to say it's got a lot of bang for the buck. Bought mine used for a very good price and in excellent condition. It may not have quite the reach of the alternatives, but it will give you very sharp images. It's also small and travels nicely. I consider both the 14-42 and 45-150 Panasonics as keepers in my system..even if I somehow fell into a ton of money and could afford the pro lenses. Not a problem on Oly bodies either..just configure the IS priority in the menu.

3. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    I had a 45-200 that I bought when I got one of the first G1s. As a lens it was fine, but I found that the 45mm end was too long for a lot of my usual tourist photography outdoors and that constantly swapping with the 14-45 was at best a pain, sometimes impossible or impossibly slow to catch a subject. So I sold 'em both, bought a 14-140mm Mk 1 and had money left over. I have never regretted it. I now have the 14-140mm Mk II which is considerably lighter and is said to have better resolution. It's pretty much permanently attached to one of my GX7s, with the other GX7 body carrying my 9-18 or my 100-300 depending on circumstances.

4. Ulfric M Douglas

Ulfric M Douglas Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 6, 2010
    Northumberland
    I bought a used one off the forum and it is very good at 200mm, outresolves my already good 40-150.