Which Photoshop software to use?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by fljoe, Jan 12, 2012.

1. fljoe

fljoe Mu-43 Regular

Dec 30, 2011

I am just starting out in the Micro 4/3 world .. just got a E-PL1 and couple of additional lenses with the kit lens (a 20mm f1.7 Panny and Oly M.Zuiko Digital ED
    14-150mm f4.0-5.6). I have been a P&S shooter till now. I have been reading quiet a bit and I am seriously interested in shooting in RAW mode. So I will be needing a good RAW converter/modifying software.

So for a person who is starting out, what would you recommend:
    1) Adobe Photoshop CS5
    2) Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3
    3) Adobe Photoshop Elements 10

Thank you very much on your opinions.
  2. ean10775

ean10775 Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 31, 2011
    Cleveland, Ohio
    If your E-PL1 came with a software CD you should have Olympus Viewer which can read the raw files and allow you to do basic processing. Alternatively, I believe you can download it for free from the Olympus website.

All three Photoshop products use the same RAW converter - Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), its just implemented in different ways. I've used CS5, and more recently Lightroom 3, and I have to say that for me, Lightroom 3 was a great investment and much easier to use than ACR through CS5. I have no experience with Elements - perhaps someone else can chime in.
  3. leonberdi

leonberdi Mu-43 Regular

Apr 15, 2011
    I used to use Photoshop but think it's overkill for my needs. I'm more than happy with the usability and simplicity of Aperture.

I apologize if your heart is set on Photoshop, but I wanted to chime in that there are other (simpler) alternatives out there.
  4. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.