Which one of these three and WHY ??????

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Dakota, Dec 26, 2016.

1. Dakota

Dakota Mu-43 Regular

Sep 20, 2016
    Burson, Ca.
    Bill Cook
    I am looking at the Olympus EM5 II, Panasonic G85, Olympus E-M1. I want a excellent camera for mostly stills. I do not do that much video but maybe more way down the road. I do like the max shutter speed on the Olympus cameras at 1/8000. I know there are pro and cons on every camera. I do mostly wildlife, birds, river and lakes, forests, zoos etc. Most likely will get the 100-300 lens later this summer. Would love to do the E-M1 II camera but its way out of my price range. So give me feedback and your opinion on these three choises and why.
    Thanks

Bill

2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman Subscribing Member

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    The E-m1 is an excellent camera, I have no experience of the other 2 though I have an original E-M5.

All of them are probably better cameras than your photographic skills... Thats no disrespect to you...It's just a fact that all modern cameras are capable of taking very high quality images. The limiting factor in the vast majority of questions like this is the photographers understanding of the photographic process.

Of those three models, the best one is the one that feels right to you and or meets your budget

K

• Agree Agree x 6
  3. wimg

wimg Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 10, 2016
    Netherlands
    Ok, let me analyze your question, and go from there. :)

Mostly stills: That essentially rules out G85 as it is especially better at video than the other two are, and vice versa the other two are better at stills.
    Wildlife, birds: The E-M1 is the camera for those, as it has faster AF I understand.
    River, lakes, forests: Essentially landscapes, IOW. Both EM-1 and E-M5 Mk II will handle these well. Just note that the E-M5 Mk II has approx. 2 stops lower noise and in addition has the high-res option.