1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Which one for my 10 yr old??

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by pixl10, Dec 12, 2011.

1. pixl10

pixl10 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 31, 2011
    Phoenix AZ
    Hi
    Looking for some advise. My 10yr old has been asking for a camera for Christmas (ILC), he is an absolute beginner but wants to change lenses. I simply could not talk him into a point and shoot. I was thinking of one of the entry level DSLRs but they are quite expensive. I myself shoot with EPl3. The older m4/3 seem to be dropping a lot in price and I have quite a few lenses we could share, but cannot seem to decide between the Olympus EPL2, Panasonic GF2 or Panasonic G2. I think he will only use it as a point and shoot to begin with, but he does like to shoot videos(uses my iPhone for that), and hopefully can grow into using some of the advanced features. I sometimes think I am totally crazy to give in to his wants but he seems to like photography and I want to encourage it rather than say "you are too young". I also think I could use his as a second body if he loses interest (yes, ulterior motive present).

Thanks

2. Not a silly thing at all. My son is as confident with my E-PL1 as I am, he has just turned 10. Totally gets the concept of aperture and DOF, and loves playing with MF lenses!
    Moviemaking is a valid career, probably more job security as a cameraman than a traditional profession in our brand new automated world, where we get to focus on entertainment over production.
    I would suggest getting a Panasonic, even a second hand GH1, with OIS kit lens. Good complement to your E-PL3! And look for a basic course somewhere local, where the two of you can learn filming techniques. Probably the major reason your son is into an ILC is so that he can spend more time with you, make the most of it in the precious pre-teen years!

• Like Like x 1
  3. pixl10

pixl10 Mu-43 Regular