Which Macro for modern Panasonic body?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by scotttnz, Apr 15, 2017.

1. I'm planing to buy a Macro lens soon, and had more or less settled on the Oly 60 after reading some reviews and comparisons with the P45, but as both lenses are a few years old now, the comparisons I have seen don't take into account some of the features of the new Panasonic bodies. I have G85 and Gx85 bodies, so I am wondering how things like DFD focusing and Dual IS, which are both supported with the P45, but not the O60 change the equation?
    I am a novice when it comes to close up photography, although I did have a 100mm macro years ago with my Canon 5D. It remains to be seen if I have forgotten the little I learnt using it, but from what I do remember I have ruled out either of the 30mm options due to the short working distance. I was leaning towards the 60mm mainly for working distance, and price reasons, but if DFD and Dual IS are going to give me big advantages the P45 would also be a strong contender. I'd be thankful to hear from anyone with relevant experience.

2. DHart

DHart Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 7, 2010
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Don
    I like the longer working distance of the Oly 60, and it doubles as a nice portrait lens, as well.

For macro work, I use a tripod, never hand held, so Dual image stabilization isn't important to me from that standpoint.

Working distance with the 45 shouldn't be too bad, either, but if dual use as a portrait lens matters to you, the 60 would have a bit of an edge there.

3. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler Subscribing Member

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    Hi DFD is mainly intended for moving subjects with CAF, I doubt it's a factor for close-ups.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Apr 4, 2010