1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Which lenses render best in B&W?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by GFFPhoto, Mar 29, 2013.

1. GFFPhoto

GFFPhoto Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2013
    Hey folks. I used to shoot and develop B&W back in the film days, but I am new to digital conversion and still learning to consistently get good results. I realize that B&W conversion styles make a huge difference in the final product, but looking at the image threads I see that some lenses seem to consistently produce better B&W images.

My question for the community is which lenses have the better optical qualities for rendering B&W images. Thanks in advance for the opinions!

2. BLT

BLT Mu-43 Regular

Jan 13, 2013
    London
    James
    I find the 14mm panasonic actually gives me consistently good looking b&w photos.

I managed to swap it for my MK I oly kit lens - and while I was disappointed to find that the IQ is no better (than kit @ 14mm) and the colours are not so nice - I do like it's compact size and like I said It seems to produce really nice B&W results.

3. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    For B&W photography, your choice of lens should be guided more by "contrast" than by "sharpness" (sometimes referred to as "resolution"). When evaluating an MTF (Modulation Transfer Function) chart for a lens will generally either have bold (thick) lines that correspond to contrast or lines labeled with lp/mm (line pair per millimeter) where the lines corresponding to the fewest lp/mm will relate to contrast. Whichever methodology a given chart follows the lines at the top of the chart will be the ones which relate to contrast.