1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Which E-PL6 kit?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by GnedTheGnome, Mar 6, 2015.

1. GnedTheGnome

GnedTheGnome Mu-43 Regular

I currently have a Canon xsi and a handful of inexpensive lenses. I find, however, that I don't enjoy shooting with it very much, and I rarely have it with me, because it is so freaking big and heavy (not to mention ugly :cautious: ). And if I ever get in the position for a better camera, it will just get bigger and heavier. So, I'm seriously considering a switch to m43.

If price were not an issue, I would probably get the Pany GX7 or the OMD-EM5, the Oly 9-18, the Pany 14-140 3.5 (as my convenience/walkaround lens) plus a few primes.

Unfortunately, however, I am a starving student, so I am looking at the E-PL6 kits available as imports. For about $450 I can either get the two-lens kit, with the 14-42 and the 40-150 kit lenses, or I can get it with the single pancake lens. (I should probably mention that I also have a Canon FD 50mm 1.4 and a Takumar 35mm f2 that I definitely plan to adapt, plus a few other Canon FD and EOS lenses I could adapt for the time being.)

The two-lens kit would give me a lot more flexibility with native lenses, but ultimately - at least a year from now, possibly more - I would probably end up selling them and getting something else.

If I get the pancake lens, I could see myself keeping it, along with the E-PL6, as a super-compact 2nd kit, even after I upgrade to my dream set-up. And, when I think about it, the 40-150 runs as little as $50 second-hand, so I could probably pick that up in a couple months.

I'm leaning toward option 2, but I would like to get feedback on the relative performance, particularly in terms of image quality, between the two.