Which color of E5 should I choose?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Yanning, Sep 16, 2012.

1. Yanning

Yanning New to Mu-43

Sep 16, 2012
    Recently, I want to buy E-M5. I am a freshman. I want to know which color is not easy to be dirty ? And which lens should I choose?the 14-42MM or 12-50MM? Thank you very much.
  2. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I would think each color would be equally able to stay clean. If this is something you are worried about - getting it dirty - you might want to get the underwater cover! It is weather sealed but that does not mean you can take it into the mud and expect it to survive. Right now the silver is harder to find in stock and some places are selling them at a premium.

As for the lens the 14-42 is much cheaper but is not weather sealed. The 12-50 is weather sealed and gives you 2mm extra on the wide end and 8mm on the long end. However the 14-42 is smaller and lighter.
  3. brokken

brokken Mu-43 Regular

Aug 25, 2012
    My personal take is for the silver. It looks more classic and both Silver and black lenses look good on it.
  4. yekimrd

yekimrd Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 14, 2012
    Cincinnati, OH
    I can imagine scratches and dirt as showing up more easily on the silver but I haven't read any posts to go along with that theory.

If you're into retro cameras, get the silver one. There was a funny thread from earlier where this came in handy since the OP's wife mistook the OM-D for an old, inexpensive camera. :rofl:

On the other hand, if you want your camera to appear more modern (like me), get the black version. While some people think the silver lenses on a black body stick out like a sore thumb, I disagree. I have the silver 12/2 (and previously owned the 45/1.8) and think they look fine.

Either way, I don't think you'll go wrong with choosing either color.
  5. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Depends.. ... on the camera..