which camera should I take into consideration after a stolen E-PL1?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by mesmerized, Jun 18, 2012.

1. mesmerized

mesmerized Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 18, 2012
    Dear Users!

I'm a newbie here and I'll frankly admit that my knowledge of photography isn't very broad. Currently I'm in China and my Olympus E-PL1 (yes, I'm an Olympus fan) was stolen a month ago along with my PC... I lost lots of pictures (thousands, as a matter of fact) and I need to buy a new camera since I'm going to stay here for a while. What I'm most interested in is taking pics of people and Chinese architecture... plus some landscapes. I know that kit lenses aren't equipped with large zoom but I don't really care about that. What I need is a good micro 4/3 camera with a large sensor that could give me a shallow depth of field... I don't want a camera that's going to interfere with taken pictures (like NX11 supposedly, which has a lot of noise reduction on the software level... nonetheless it does have a large sensor, doesn't it...) I don't take RAW pics, I need good quality JPGs with vivid colors. Sometimes I had a feeling that my E-PL1 took...hmm...how shall I put it...dreary pics but maybe I'm wrong.

Anyway, should I go for the same model or something newer? Can I really get a shallow depth of field with a micro 4/3 system camera?

Appreciate your advice!

May the Force be with you.

2. hkpzee

hkpzee Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 5, 2011
    Hong Kong
    Patrick
    All M4/3 cameras have the same sensor size (maybe with the exception of the GH2 if you want to get technical). So, was the sensor of your E-PL1 big enough for you?

How shallow a DOF do you want? It would be difficult to achieve really shallow DOF look with any M4/3 camera + a kit lens. You need faster aperture or longer focal length to do that, so on top of the new camera body, you will probably need to invest in some lenses to achieve the type of shots that you are seeking.