Where to go from here? A discussion.

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by TNcasual, Nov 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. TNcasual

TNcasual Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Dec 2, 2014
    Knoxville, TN
    One of the greatest aspects of mft in general and mu-43.com in specific is the diversity of usage of the gear. The system allows for those who actually make a living with their cameras or those who just want a something that takes sharp photos with a camera that fits in a purse or jacket pocket. The forum allows or each of those groups, and everyone in between, to have a place to bring together experiences and help each other grow as photographers. I am a serious amateur. I am not overly knowledgeable in optic design, the intricacy of the exposure triangle, or even what all my equipment can do. I just enjoy making pictures for myself and sharing what I create with others. Maybe I can help others in their hobby/passion, maybe I can't. But others sure do help me in mine.

Over the last few years that I have been in the system and part of mu-43.com I have reached out for opinions on what I should buy next, or what to trade up for, let go. It has always been great advice. That has led me to my current kit. I am pretty happy with what I have. I realize there are holes (UWA, fast telephoto, etc), but I am pretty content with my current set up.

For clarification here is how I tend to use my equipment:
    • Bodies
      • Olympus E-M10 - Main camera, I use it almost exclusively. Love the size and Live Composite.
      • Olympus E-M5 - My inclement weather/hiking camera and second body. It tends to sit on the shelf unless I want two bodies and/or need the weather sealing.
    • Native Lenses
      • Olympus 14-150ii - General lens. Used with the E-M5 for weather sealed kit. Also used for travel for its versatility. While IQ falls off pretty quickly with light, I still get some good results.