Where do you store all your photos?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by timothysoong, Dec 15, 2011.

1. timothysoong

timothysoong Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 10, 2011
    Taipei, Taiwan
    I own a 1TB external hard disk and lately I've been taking so many pictures that I realized that it would run out some day and I'd prolly need to get another hard disk to store my photos. And I'm only a 3-4months learning photographer, not to mention those professionals who have millions of photos.

Do you store them in hard disk? Online? Or what?
  2. garfield_cz

garfield_cz Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 9, 2011
    Czech Republic
    I am using Disk station Synology ds211j with 1TB storage capacity. But the question is: Do you really need to store all your photos?
    • Like Like x 2
  3. manju69

manju69 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 1, 2011
    Stroud, UK
    For anything important - find some way of making a back up - or even two ways as one could fail. I have a back up drive for most of my hard drive and a smaller back that I occasionally use for photos.

the other thing - delete frequently! Every six months, take a fresh look and see what you really want to keep. If you are a hoarder (and that's fine) you will ignore this and keep everything!
  4. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    it's OK to delete.....really. I don't reckon I'll fill up a TB hard drive in 10 years time. I back them up once a month on 2 separate hard drives in case (when) one fails.
  5. addieleman

addieleman Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 5, 2010
    The Netherlands
    I store the keepers on the PC's 2 TB hard disk and I back up that disk once a week or so on a portable 1 TB drive that I put in a drawer at work. The other 1 TB drive is then going home for the next backup action.