Where do you host your 'personal' photos?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by DaveG, Apr 3, 2014.

1. DaveG

DaveG Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 5, 2014
    I'm struggling with trying to find a good solution of where to host my personal photos. Photos for friends and family, that sort of thing.

I'm new to this whole take-photography-somewhat-serious thing and until I accidentally take a really good photo, I don't need to host for artistic merit/accolade purposes.

Where do you host photos that aren't for professional/enthusiast purposes?

I used to use Picasa Web Albums, but I'm trying to go Google-free and I hate that G+ is integrated and mostly in general have a Google-bluh feeling about them. And Google.

What I liked was it was easy to post, easy for people to comment, and easy to provide some basic privacy so the whole internet isn't indexing the fact that I had a delicious taco in Cabo.

I don't really like Facebook either, for similar reasons but more that the privacy is too much work. I really just want to email a link to a web album that only people with the link can see the album, maybe comment and that's about it. Also, I not a post-crap-to-Facebook-dude.

I'm not interested in general public access or 'social' features (such as Flickr and/or 500px), unless they can be turned off easily. EYES OFF MY TACOS!

I don't mind paying for a decent service.

I currently use OneDrive (SkyDrive) as my cloud backup solution and this may end up just being the easiest in the long run, but it'd be nice to have something a little prettier for the front-end.

I use Lightroom, so an export plugin would be a requisite too. I like simple.

Any suggestions or feedback would be muy apreciado tacos!
  2. DoofClenas

DoofClenas Who needs a Mirror!

Nov 9, 2012
    Traverse City, MI

I can pm you my site if you want to see an example.
  3. krugorg

krugorg Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA