1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

When did you decide to sell your DSLR gear?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by mintchoco, Jan 31, 2013.

1. mintchoco

mintchoco Mu-43 Regular

May 24, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    So, my 'other' system is a Nikon D7000. Right now, all I have with it is the 35/1.8 and 18-200 and SB400 flash.

I've newly acquired the OMD EM-5. From everything I've read (still need to do more personal testing), the OMD EM-5 will match or beat my Nikon D7000 for the most part. Is there ANY REASON why I would consider keeping the Nikon still? I'm just a hobbyist and mostly take photos of the familiy.

Thanks! :)

When did you dump your DSLR gear?

2. arad85

arad85 Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 16, 2012
    When the G5 came out and the 35-100 was pretty close.

I'm covered 14-200 FF equivalent with pro quality glass and a cheap body that's good enough for 99% of photos I take (I'd like the GH3 simply because it handles highlight recovery better) but I'm an occasional photographer and I'm waiting for that sensor to become available in s cheaper body. The trade off for a slightly worse picture out of the G5 (compared to the 5D2 with L lenses I had previously) is that the ergonomics are so much more advanced.

3. Talanis

Talanis Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 15, 2012
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Eric Cote
    If I was a hobbyist, I would sell all my Canon gear right now without any regrets (and would buy some more lens with the money... lol)

As a pro, I'm still debating on that move, especially for weddings. I would miss the render of my 35 f/1.4 on the FF and the low light efficiency of the 5DII. My fear is also client perception. But I might still do the move at the end of the wedding season.

• Like Like x 2
  4. noohoggin1

noohoggin1 Instagram: @tomnguyenstudio

May 21, 2012
    MN
    Tom