1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What's your photography education?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Cassady, May 10, 2012.

1. Cassady

Cassady New to Mu-43

May 4, 2012
    I've been looking around this forum a bit (and posting a little bit) and I'm curious: what is your background in photography? Did you pick it up on your own or do you have formal training?

If you have formal education in photography, did you study journalism, fine art or something else? Did you get, or are you getting, a degree in journalism or art? Did you (or are you) major(ing) in photography?

Even thought I wasn't an art major, when I was a student I took a lot of photography courses in the art department of a state university. I think knowing a bit more about what sort of training people have had will be interesting.

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    I read the forums at mu-43.com. They give you an excellent education. ;)

• Like Like x 8
  3. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    I have no education in photography and it shows

• Like Like x 3
  4. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    I took a course in the mid-80s, but that was mainly on dark room stuff. Does that count?

5. MizOre

MizOre Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 26, 2011
    Reading a lot, living near major museums at different times in my life, reading more, running a range of cameras, stopping for a while and doing something else (seriously, taking a break from anything you don't have to do for a living came be useful), looking at photos on line where the most salient factor always would be composition over sheer technical qualities (really). Reading Arnheim on visual perception.

6. wlewisiii

wlewisiii Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 16, 2011
    Hayward, WI
    William Barnett-Lewis