1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What's your E-PL2 settings

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ronbot, Mar 12, 2011.

1. ronbot

ronbot Mu-43 Regular

Apr 27, 2010
    Just got the E-PL2 and loving it.

I have the right scroll wheel as WB, down scroll wheel as ISO. The Fn button is used as the Home and the rec button as is. With this, I find I can quickly change needed parameters without taking my eye out of the VF-2. How did you map your buttons/dial.

As before on my E-PL1, NR is off and noise filter is low. I'm also using iEnhance at low effect. I like the resulting images with these. Does shadow compensation actually help?

attachment.php?attachmentid=3491&stc=1&d=1299922594.

Is it me or is the design very Mac-like? Either way, I quite like how it looks.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
  2. fotomatix

fotomatix Mu-43 Regular

Mar 13, 2011
    Canada
    Thanks for sharing ronbot.
    I'm still learning to navigate around. It took me a little while but I finally set my NR off and noise filter to Low as you have. I can't recall where exactly but another site recommended the same.

I wonder if anyone can suggest what IS (image stabilization) setting to choose? 1, 2, 3? What is the difference between these settings? Different selections for certain situations?

I think the design is classic with a certain elegance. You look like you're holding a real photo camera. It also feels and grips like a real camera in your hands. This was one thing I did not enjoy about the Sony NEX-5.
    2 other main reasons I went with this camera is the integrated flash and mode dial selector as part of the hardware. Again, NEX failed for me here.

Thanks.

3. craig1912

craig1912 Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 7, 2011
    Still gettong to grips with mine-looking forward to hints and tips here.

4. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010
    Finland