What's worth keeping?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by AlanP, Nov 8, 2013.

1. AlanP

AlanP New to Mu-43

Nov 8, 2013
    Total newbie to using adapted lenses on my Samsung NX1000 but have acquired a few that I am thinking about and would welcome comments and advice please.

The lenses, all Olympus OM mount are:

A) Sun 28mm - 2.5 - 55mm diameter

B) Zuiko 28mm - 2.8

C) Zuiko 50mm - 1.8 - 49mm diameter (with a Photax 1A filter that I can't remove)

D) Sigma 28-70mm - 3.5/4.5 - 52mm diameter

E) Vivitar 75-205mm - 3.8 - 62mm diameter (with a Hoya UV(0) filter that I can't remove)

F) Matched Vivitar 2x multiplier for above

G) Samigon 80-205mm - 4.5 - 52mm diameter (with a Haze UV filter)

H) Panagor 2x TeleConvertor

I've ordered a couple of cheap NX-OM convertors off Ebay that should be here next week.

As well as thoughts on the lenses and multipliers I had a couple of general questions:

How can I free up the stuck filters?

What is better - in general terms - a 52mm diameter or a 62mm diameter lens of a similar spec (or any two different diameters).

2. Just Jim

Just Jim Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 20, 2011
    If you do NOT want the filters. ...unscrew them by leaning on a car tire. Don't ask, it works pretty darn good. If not it's STUUUUUUCK. ...or if you want, some liquid wrench (ill advised, also don't ask) and a car tire.
  3. SRHEdD

SRHEdD Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 24, 2011
    Viera, Florida USA
    The Zuikos are crap, send them to me. I'll pay shipping.
  4. AlanP

AlanP New to Mu-43

Nov 8, 2013
    International so if you send me $500 to cover it you've got a deal :smile:
  5. SRHEdD

SRHEdD Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 24, 2011
    Viera, Florida USA
    Damn devaluation of the dollar...
  6. HarryS

HarryS Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Midwest, USA