Whats the highest auto iso you have set for OMD cameras?

sin77

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
243
Location
Singapore
I used to set iso 3200 for e-pm2. For e-m10, I think I may set to iso 4000.

What about you?

Is it safe to go iso 6400?
 

DWhite

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 23, 2013
Messages
33
Real Name
David
Depends on the situation. In my MySets I've got:
HDR: ISO fixed at LOW
Sports (S-priority and CA-F): 200-3200
General Purpose: 200-1600

It's not that I won't go higher than those values; it's just that I'd prefer to consciously decide that I want to go higher and then make the setting manually.
 

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
3,912
Location
Gent, Belgium
On e-m1I will go to 8000 if needed. It depends on the situation. Took a family shot on thanksgiving in really bad light at 8000 ISO...made an appreciated and acceptable shot printed at 5x7.

Normally I try and keep below ISO 5000. But then again I do convert to b/w

In the end it's what works for you
K
 

Klorenzo

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,905
Real Name
Lorenzo
On the EM-10 I've set 3200. I'd go a little higher but the camera always rises it higher than I would do.

I would go up to 25600 if needed without too much worries: shooting RAW and removing the chroma noise and just a little of the luminance noise. Yes, it's going to be noisy but for "low light/night" photos could even be a plus and it is better than no photo anyway, especially for web/monitor display.
 

janneman

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
433
Location
Netherlands
Real Name
Jan (John) Kusters
On my PM2 -my 'always with me' camera- I have set auto iso to 3200, and tune it down manually when I start taking pictures I expect or hope to print large. I am still figuring out things about the PM2, so this might change in future.

On my E-M5 I have one my set dedicated to the little green men from outer space landing. It is set up for getting the picture at all cost. It has auto iso set to 6400, uses a large af box (less hunting but the risk of wrong-focus), and it has RiS priority on, so it will take a picture when I push, focused or not. I have not encountered any little green men yet, but it is also useful for parties when uncle Bob launches his set false teeth, or kite events when the little boy gets lifted by the way too big kite his daddy made...

I am still on the fence about 12800 and 25600; I need to do some testing to see what is better; setting Iso to those values, or recovering underexposure from 6400 in pp,
 

lightmonkey

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
479
depends what im shooting, how its lit, what i want out of the photo

scenario varies from 1600 to 3200 to 6400
 

Ropes4u

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
97
My set one is landscape - ISO 200, the next three are set to auto ISO with maxes of 1600, 3200 and 6400 but I should probably delete one of those.
 

HarryS

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
986
Location
Midwest, USA
Sure. ISO 6400 is fine with EM5 generation sensors. It's all about the exposure. If you underexpose at ISO 400, you can get a bad shot too. There is more noise at high ISO, and you can knock that down in PP, while trading off some detail. I've taken a few above this limit, but there's too much noise for most people.
 

AlexH

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
385
Location
Arkansas, U.S.
I shoot an E-M5, and I rarely go above 1600. In low light, the IBIS works so well I never really need more than 1600.
 

AlanU

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
488
I'll set the auto iso to max out at 3200 on my Em-5. I do find I'll monitor my shutter speed to achieve faster shutter speeds than 1/60.

IBIS is great for static / slow moving subjects but this is NOT a cure for stopping action. This is where you must monitor your shutter speeds to stop action or at least use flash.

For non moving objects (not human) I'll go higher in iso's as long as I can get a clean photo. For human subjects I'd use flash and reduce the ISO's to retain skin texture.
 

wjiang

Mu-43 Legend
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
7,181
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
I limit auto-ISO to 3200 (which is the highest native non-boosted ISO, btw). Worst case, I under expose the raw and push it in post, which comes to about the same thing as raising the ISO further anyway. I use flash where I can, but find it too intrusive for most social situations.
 

zathras

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
161
Location
Waikato, New Zealand
Real Name
Chris Nielsen
On the EM1 I use my 75-300 quite a bit, that is slow as a wet weekend so I let it run to 6400, but with DxO's Prime NR, 6400 looks amazingly clean. I have used 1600 speed 35mm film and it's 10 times worse than my EM1 is at 25600. To say I am happy is somewhat of an understatement!
 

Vivalo

Olympus loser
Joined
Nov 16, 2010
Messages
1,372
I use auto ISO 200-3200 and that is usually enough, sometimes I might dial ISO 6400 manually.
 

MadMarco

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
438
Location
Guildford, England
I use ISO 200-3200 for my go-to settings.

I find that ISO 3200 looks great and has a lot of scope to pull out detail with minimum effort. If you are thinking of shooting in low light on a regular basis then it might be worth investing in a fast prime. The Olympus M.Zuiko 17mm f1.8 is one of my favourite lenses ever, I paid £270 second hand on eBay for an as-new copy. The AF is lightening fast and I find the image quality to be very nice. It's amazing what a difference some fast glass can make.
 

Ross the fiddler

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
3,758
Location
Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia
Real Name
Ross
I used to set iso 3200 for e-pm2. For e-m10, I think I may set to iso 4000.

What about you?

Is it safe to go iso 6400?
I have both the E-M5 & E-M1 set to 6400. If you're looking for the cleanest images then maybe that is not for you, but a higher ISO shot is better than no shot at all for a number of occasions.
 

Fri13

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
359
The auto ISO is at 3200 because higher I can't get with the video mode. Otherwise I go at highest extension if needed and quality is still great.

I don't use auto ISO for anything else.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom