1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

what's the future of m4/3?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by mesmerized, Aug 3, 2013.

1. mesmerized

mesmerized Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 18, 2012
    Howdy,

I do realize that this question might have been posted a number of times but with the E-P5 and GX-7 cameras I think it's a good moment to ponder a bit over the future of micro 4/3 system. Someone on this forum has said recently that m4/4 reminds him of a very well-constructed engine which doesn't have much space for improvement anymore. Another user has said that OMD E-M5 has saved m4/3 system from going into oblivion. What's your opinion? And just out of curiosity... Do you think Olympus will ever introduce a mirrorless camera with the APS-C sensor? I suppose it'd be like shooting oneself in the foot as far as keeping the m4/3 alive is concerned.

Cheers

2. Richella

Richella The Wandering Scotsman

Aug 21, 2011
    Kuala Lumpur
    I'm no expert but for me the advantage of the M43 format, and even the Nikon 1 format, is that they allow for much much smaller high quality lenses than the full frame and APSC formats. This is the true weight saving advantage. I'm sure with the advances in sensor technology that we will continue to see higher quality, smaller sensors all the time. I certainly hope so. I have no desire to go back to larger lenses.

Sent from my iPad using Mu-43 mobile app

3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    For anybody who holds out the idea that Olympus will go to APS-C or indeed even FF should go to this site

Four Thirds

and read the whitepapers and benefits of sections.

When Olympus moved to digital ILC cameras more than 10 years ago, they had no legacy AF lenses to accomodate, so really sat down with a blank piece of paper.