What's an AFFORDABLE, legacy lens for portraits and scenery?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by amberzombie, Nov 2, 2010.

1. amberzombie

amberzombie Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 28, 2010
    I'm after one that will work well with a GF1, shooting in JPEG.

I've read good things about Konica Hexanons, how about others? I'm totally new to SLR shooting so I don't even know where to start!

Ideally I'd be shooting portraits and scenery where I actually have time to think about the shot and frame it correctly. Reason why I want a legacy lens is just really to be able to learn how to focus manually and just find out more about photography in general - if you know what i mean.

2. zpierce

zpierce Super Moderator

Sep 26, 2010
    Minneapolis, MN
    Zach
    There's a ton of choices in the affordable 50mm f1.4 - f1.8 range. I have the Minolta MD Rokkor 50mm f1.4, many people have Canon FD 50mm f1.4. Pop 50mm f1.4 into ebay and you'll see many choices. Many in the $25-$75 range.

3. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Midlothian, VA
    Richard Elliott
    Affordable is relative. But zpierce is correct, you can get a lot of 50mm lenses for under $50 - I have the Pentax-M 50/1.4 and 50/1.7 lenses myself.

35mm - 45mm lenses will go for more ($100-$200+), especially in the f2.0 or faster category.

4. starlabs

starlabs Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    You'll have to remember to include the m43 adapter to your affordable budget. :smile:

Recently got:
    Canon FD 50mm f/1.4 SSC (ebay - $75 w/ shipping)
    Canon FD adapter for m43 (ebay - $27)

So about $100.

I'm very happy with the quality of the 50mm SSC - it's my favorite manual focus lens so far. Excellent low light shooter. Only minor downside is the large size and heft (compared to native m43 lenses... then again, the Canon lens is not plastic!).

Here's some portrait shots (flickr) taken at a dinner with a few friends - very low light in that restaurant.