What will primes do for me?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by M4/3, May 27, 2012.

1. M4/3

M4/3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 24, 2011
    I'm a relative novice landscape shooter and don't own any primes. I keep wondering what noticable image quality advantage primes may offer landscape shooters in good light at base ISO?

I shoot with an E-PL1 with its 14-42mm kit lens. See example below shot at 14mm. Would I really notice any more detail in that already sharp and detailed image if I used a Pany 14mm 2.5 prime on the E-PL1?
  2. Qwerty

Qwerty Mu-43 Regular

Jan 15, 2012
    Primes will teach you the art of composition - in my view the key to photography.
    • Like Like x 8
  3. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    The primes tend to be faster so you can shoot in lower light. That can be a big plus. You did say "in good light" and lens speed isn't an issue in good light but good light can quickly change to bad light in a hurry at times so don't automatically discount the speed.

Wider apertures also give you more flexibility with depth of field if you're trying to isolate your subject from the background and that is an advantage that a faster prime has in good light.

Many of the primes are physically smaller and lighter than the zooms. If that makes the difference between having the camera with you, because you can throw it in your bag or brief case, or not having it with you because you can't do that, then that can also be the difference between getting some great shots and missing them entirely because you don't have a camera with you.