What to shoot midday

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Joltinjess, Mar 3, 2013.

1. Joltinjess

Joltinjess Mu-43 Regular

Jan 6, 2013
    Port Moody, BC
    Jesse
    Lately I've been getting the opportunity to get out for a couple hours a week and shoot. I have a small child so I feel very lucky to get even that. The problem is that it's almost always in the middle of the day. I realize that I'm not going to get amazing landscape shots at that time. I'm really new to all this so I really haven't found my niche yet. So far I've just called up my buddy, we pick a place, like a lake or park and we go for a walk. The results haven't been great. What do people here shoot midday?

2. entropicremnants

entropicremnants Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 16, 2012
    John Griggs
    I've had that kind of schedule and I usually look for opportunities to shoot backlighted things where the light shows through and so forth; closeups of things using fill-flash to bring up the shadows; of just look for some scenes so compelling that the high contrast "bad" light doesn't matter, lol.

Thing is, I see you're in British Columbia and like me you're in winter so there isn't a lot of vegetation and so forth around to shoot through, lol.

I don't know as there is any easy answer to this. There CAN be compelling photos made mid-day despite the conventional wisdom that the light is too poor. Sometimes if you shoot RAW you can dodge up the shadows enough to bring the contrast in line but with an E-PL1 that may not be as easy as with a camera with more dynamic range and requires shooting in RAW -- although you can do some of that optimization in-camera for jpg but I've never used that feature so I can't say how. There is a way to optimize shadows in the Olympus cameras though.

EDIT: Oh, and sometimes shooting black and white helps with some scenes. I've done that as well.

• Like Like x 2
  3. iGonzoid

iGonzoid Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 6, 2011
    Tasmania, Australia