What to purchase?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Brian10956, Jul 10, 2017.

1. Brian10956

Brian10956 Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 9, 2017
    i am a long time amateur photographer. The past few years I have been very sick were my photography hobby wasn't very active. My older digital camera was a mid priced Nikon SLR with a few zoom and micro fixed lens. On days when I was traveling light I used a Panasonic Point and Shoot ZS20.
    I've finally recovered and want to buy better and more current equipment. The bulk of my shooting is sight seeing and nature photography. I would also like to do some video photography.
    After looking on YouTube and other web sites I have decided to get a 4/3 outfit and a ZS100 just to have on the days were I didn't have my 4/3s with me. Where I would like some advice is what body and lens should I start with.
    The body's I'm leaning towards are the GH5(or maybe the Olympus equivalent) or the GX8 in a lens I was thinking the Panasonic 14-140 I see that both Olympus and Tamron makes currently have a a similar size lens but the don't have the built in stability. I would prefer to keep my starting cost to around $3000.00 for body , lens, extra battery, 2 high speed 64 mg memory cards, external microphone and small flash. If there is anything I'm missing please let me know. I have a closet full of camera accessories that will work for the new system. The GX8 seems to be a little long in the tooth that why I'm leaning more to the GH5. When I save up a little more cash I will like to add a good macro lens and update my printer I currently have a 10 year old Canon that can print paper up to 13" wide.
    So if some of you that are more experienced in the hardware I'm considering or should be considering let my know what you feel is my best choice.

2. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Do you still have any of your Nikon lenses? If so, which ones are they?

3. JamesD172

JamesD172 Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member