1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What software for a newbie?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Gyles, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Gyles

Gyles Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 15, 2012
    Sunny Norfolk, UK
    Travelographer and self confessed Hexaholic
    Hi Guys,

Just starting to take my photography a little more seriously and have just ordered a new PC and have nearly made my mind up on a monitor and Spyder4Prp.

1, Before I go ahead and order LR5 does anyone have any suggestions to any other software that I might be consider either as an alternative or in addition. I'm on a tightish budget as I'm having to purchase everything all at once.

2, Are there any differences between LR5 and the student/teacher version?

3, What would be a good workflow?

4, Any other good working practices I should follow.

Remember I'm new to processing.

Many thanks.

2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    I think LR is a great program all around, regardless of skill level... It even has good auto-fix abilities. I mainly make use of the sliders, first I'll fine-tune my exposure by getting shadows, darks, lights and highlights where I want them, then I'll turn to the hue/saturation/luminance sliders for each individual color channel, and if necessary finish up with sharpening and/or noise reduction. I have also recently found the defringing tool especially useful for legacy lenses.

I highly doubt that my system is the most efficient, but there it is, for now. Oh, and if you find yourself adjusting color channels much, shoot in something other than jpg sRGB, as it doesn't leave much latitude at all for this kind of tweaking. I used to have better luck using adobeRGB when I used a DSLR, lately I've been shooting some more RAW, which is even better.

• Like Like x 1
  3. RichardB

RichardB Snapshooter

Nov 19, 2012
    Maryland, US
    Richard