1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What settings for EP2 and legacy glass?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Peter, Sep 18, 2010.

1. Peter

Peter New to Mu-43

Sep 18, 2010
    Hi

I am new to M4/3 cameras. I am a pretty experienced photographer, and the size and quality output of these cameras really appealed.

I now have an EP2 and zoom kit, along with the EVF. A friend has a GF1 and an old Konica 40mm lens and I love the images. His adapter will work on my EP2 so I want to try his lens. On the Gf1 you simply press the click wheel to get the zoom in feature for focusing these old lenses.

I can't seem to get a simple way to do this on my new camera.

I would really appreciate some advice on how to set my camera for the MF assist function.

As an aside, do you generally find that the magnified mode is necessary for MF?

Last question: since the autofocus won't be operational, is it necessary to choose a single focus point for legacy glass - or do I simply assume focus in the centre of the view?

Finally, apologies that my first post here is a pile of questions... :frown:

2. silverbullet

silverbullet Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 10, 2010
    Hi Peter, welcome to this excellent forum!

In the manual from my E-P2 I couln't find the easy way to get the magnification, but just by coincidence I found it:

Press the "Info"button beneed the round wheel until a green focus box appears in the viewfinder or on screen.
    Now you are able to position this box all over the screen where you need it by pressing the round wheel. Then press the middle button (OK) of the wheel and -bang- you'll get the magnification.
    Press it again and the normal size of the green-box will come back. That's all!

Happy shooting!

• Like Like x 1
  3. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010