What photography related books have you read/would you recommend?

Angus Gibbins

Mu-43 All-Pro
Real Name
Angus
I'm currently working my way through:
Digital Photography: Complete Course by DK Publishing (Digital Photography Complete Course Digital Photography Complete Course: DK Publishing: 9781465436078: Amazon.com: Books)

Pretty good for beginners. I'm far from a pro and taught myself most of my knowledge base, so this is pretty good for picking up bits and pieces that I missed along the way (EG: I didn't know cameras had an aperture preview button. No one's ever told me this, I picked it up from this book.)

One problem I have with this book is I tend to read through the exercises once, and then forget about them throughout the week (particularly the early chapters), but I am making it a point to review them once or twice throughout the week and to practice them, no matter "beginner" they seem. (EG: before reading this, previously I never would've thought to put my camera into P mode, I'd never use it for a big project, but it is surprisingly useful for quick and easy photos for my current (non photography related) blogging project.)

A couple of books I'm planning on ordering this week (think I found both of these from Valerie Jarden's Street Focus podcast):
It's Not About The F Stop by Jay Maisel (It's Not About the F-Stop (Voices That Matter) It's Not About the F-Stop (Voices That Matter): Jay Maisel: 9780321987129: Amazon.com: Books)

The Photographer's Playbook: 307 Assignments And Ideas by Jason Fulford and Greg Halpern:
The Photographer's Playbook: 307 Assignments and Ideas Amazon.com: The Photographer's Playbook: 307 Assignments and Ideas (9781597112475): Jason Fulford, Gregory Halpern: Books

Sent from my iPhone using Mu-43 mobile app

Last edited:

TassieFig

Mu-43 Top Veteran