What lenses?

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by dornblaser, Feb 20, 2014.

1. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    Chicago-area
    David Dornblaser
    I am a total novice at astrophotography but I love to go off-grid or to dark sky locations. My lens has always been wide'ish, O12. There is a thread on this board where a poster used an O75. I am wondering what lenses you use and most importantly, why. This year I will be using my E-M10 instead of my E-M5 for the remote iPad trigger; I will be using the a couple of the star/space apps on the iPad as well.

- David

2. Timmy

Timmy Mu-43 Regular

Dec 3, 2013
    Wiltshire - UK
    Lens: 14-42mm kit lens with it's matching wide angle adapter.
    Why: The least expensive way for me to go wide - while I practice & work out if astro is a serious enough hobby to merit buying a good fast lens.

Perfect for Star trails - not so good for static star shots!

Tried using my longer lenses - but the Oly 45 only gives me 5 seconds to expose before the stars move, I could try stacking I suppose but I like to have plenty of scenery under the stars - so wider the better for me.

3. fin azvandi

fin azvandi Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 12, 2011
    South Bend, IN
    I have barely done any astrophotography but there are some excellent articles on the website lonelyspeck.com including this one where he goes over the various options for focal length on different sensors - http://www.lonelyspeck.com/lenses-for-milky-way-photography/

He has a link to a Google Drive document with ratings for many focal lengths - the Oly 12/2 and 17/1.8 both score quite high, and I imagine the 25/1.4 and 25/1.8 would as well.

4. CiaranCReilly

CiaranCReilly Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 18, 2012
    Dublin
    Ciaran Reilly
    Panasonic 14 and 20, can't go wrong I don't think, fast and sharp across the frame, plus allows a decent long shutter speed. I've also used Sigma 30, its nice big focus ring is handy outside in darkness.