1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

What lens for interior real estate?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by norking, Jun 8, 2014.

1. norking

norking Mu-43 Rookie

May 31, 2013
    Hi. Short question:
    What lens would you choose for interior photography?

Long question:
    I'm a noob GH1 owner and I've been learning photography with an old cheap pentax K mount legacy prime 50mm (100mm equivalent). I want to buy a my first native lens but the more I search the Web, the more confused I am...

First I wanted the 14-140mm, then I was sold by the 20mm, and then by the 25mm with better AF, low light and sharpness.

But now I want to start shooting interiors (hotel bedrooms, etc) and I don't have a clue what's the "best focal length" (Like I said, I only used 50mm)
    Here I am on the eternal fight with prime sharpness Vs the zoom practicality

Here's my questions "cloud" on my head:

Is the expensive Panasonic 7-14mm sharper, or is the Olympus 9-18mm more costly effective? And more important, do you guys think I will need these zoom focal lengths over the primes?

Will a prime be sharper?

And money a$ide, what's sharper?

Cheap side
    1. 20mm (or other) Vs 14-140mm II?
    I really love the 20mm but isn't too narrow for interiors? I was on the way to get the 14mm pancake but after viewing the DREWnetwork review my love fell apart.

1.1. 20mm Vs Panasonic 7-14mm? (just to learn how much sharper is a cheap prime over an expensive zoom)

Expensive side
    2. Olympus 12mm f/2.0 Vs Panasonic 7-14mm f/4?

And Finally:
    3. Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 Vs Panasonic 7-14mm f/4? What would you get if you only want the most sharpest images?

(I would include the Olympus M. Zuiko ED 12-40mm f/2.8 but having a 40mm with no stabilization is a no go for me.)

I'm sorry for these awkward questions :redface: but I would love to ear any kind of opinions on this subject if you understand my position (and my English)